ICC Europe announce exciting new Officials Panel

18 Nov

From ICC Europe

ICC Europe has today announced the aligning of its regional Umpire Panels to the ICC Associate & Affiliate International Panel (ICC A&A IP).

The formation of the ICC Regional Associate & Affiliate Panel – Europe will be made up of the best regional umpires who will stand in ICC Europe events, with the opportunity therefore to be promoted to the ICC A&A IP and receive tailored professional development.

Three of Scotland's top umpires, Allan Haggo, Alex Dowdalls and Ian Ramage, have been placed on the ICC Associate and Affiliate Umpires panel. There is also spots for Andrew Baird, Eric Young and Neil Davidson on the ICC Regional Reserve Umpire Panel. 

This decision has been supported by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) who ICC Europe have been working closely with. ICC Europe is pleased to announce further support from the ECB to the region's best umpires. Chris Kelly, Umpires’ Manager for the ECB explains, “This is a wonderful opportunity for the best performing ICC Europe umpires to receive dedicated professional development and further opportunities, particularly with us at the ECB, to continue to develop umpires within the region.”

Ramage, Haggo and Baird inspect ahead of the Scotland v NZ A match

There will still be great support provided for recreational umpires and this will be continued through links with host member countries, with the aim to ensure pathways continue to be there for the best officials. Nick Cousins, Senior Executive Officer of the ECB Association of Cricket Officials (ACO) expresses opportunity possibilities for ICC Europe umpires. “ECB ACO values its close association with ICC Europe and welcomes the opportunity to further extend our relationship by providing opportunities for ICC Europe’s developing umpires to stand in ECB  competitions,” said Cousins.

ICC Regional Development Manager- Europe, Nick Pink is very happy with the new structure, “We are excited to be working alongside the best umpires regionally to develop their abilities and work with them individually to continue to develop, whilst encouraging them to be leaders in umpiring domestically.' 


Azam Baig - Ireland
Roland Black - Ireland
David Bradley - Ireland
Ashraf Din - Netherlands
Alex DowdallsScotland
Martin Gray - Guernsey
Allan HaggoScotland
Mark Hawthorne - Ireland
Huub Jansen - Netherlands
Jesper Jensen - Denmark
Heath Kearns - Jersey
Samantha Ketipe - Italy
Alan Neill - Ireland
Ian Ramage - Scotland
Craig Trapps - Spain
Simon Welch - Guernsey


Andrew Baird - Scotland
Neil Davidson - Scotland
Kevin Gallagher - Ireland
MD Rakbir Hasan - Italy
David Kenworthy - Isle of Man
Noel McCarey - Ireland
Michael Ross - Ireland
Eric Young - Scotland

View other news from November 2014

kit banner

All Stars Cricket


Coaching Courses



Live Sport

All partners