ICC T20 Qualifier Schedule

23 Sep

T20 QualifierThe ICC has announced the schedule of World Twenty20 Qualifier to be held at United Arab Emirates (UAE) from November 15 to 30.

Scotland will have two warm-up matches against the USA and Namibia before the competitive action gets underway against the likes of Afghanistan and Holland in Group B. 

The 15-day tournament, which will see 16 teams battle it out for six available slots in the ICC World Twenty20 tournament scheduled to be held in Bangladesh in March next year, will be played at seven venues.

The venues are respectively, Dubai International Cricket Stadium and ICC Academy grounds No.1 and No.2 in Dubai, Zayed Cricket Stadium and Abu Dhabi Ovals 1 and 2 in Abu Dhabi and the Sharjah Cricket Stadium.

The 16 teams have been divided into two groups with last year's winner, Ireland, in Group A alongside Canada, Hong Kong, Italy, Namibia, Uganda, USA and the host United Arab Emirates, while Group B comprises of Afghanistan, Bermuda, Denmark, Netherlands, Nepal, Kenya, Papua New Guinea (PNG) and Scotland.

ICC's Global Development Manager, Tim Anderson, said: "The time has come once again for important and prestigious event on the ICC calendar in which 16 leading members amongst the Associates and Affiliates will vie for the six available places in the ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014.

"This final qualifier is the last step of a pathway that comprised 11 ICC regional tournaments during 2012 and 2013, this time we will see six teams gain the opportunity to be a part of the global tournament to be held next year."

This is the third time that the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier is being held in the UAE. The tournament was last hosted in the country in 2012 and saw Afghanistan and Ireland claiming the qualifying positions.

The Chief Executive of the Emirates Cricket Board (ECB), David East, said: "We are happy and excited to host the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier 2013 for the third successive year.

"This qualifying event for World Twenty20 will take place ahead of the ICC Under-19 World Cup 2014, an event billed as the finishing school for future stars. The allocation of these two important events is an illustration of the faith and confidence the ICC has on the ECB in producing quality events.

The top six teams in the tournament will qualify for the 2014 ICC Twenty20 World Cup commencing the 16th March- 1 April in Bangladesh. 

Scotland T20 Schedule 
Tuesday 12/11/13 USA v Scotland ICC GCA1  Warm up
Wednesday 13/11/13  Scotland v Namibia  Sheikh Zayed Stadium  Warm up
Friday 15/11/13 Scotland v Bermuda  Sharjah Stadium   Group B
Saturday 16/11/13 Afghanistan v Scotland Sharjah Stadium  Group B
Monday 18/11/13 Scotland v Nepal  ICC GCA 2 Group B
Tuesday 19/11/13 Scotland v Kenya ICC GCA 1 Group B
Thursday 21/11/13 Scotland v PNG ICC GCA 1 Group B
Friday 22/11/13  Netherlands v Scotland  ICC GCA 1  Group B
Sunday 24/11/13 Scotland v Denmark  ICC GCA 2  Group B

View other news from September 2013

kit banner

All Stars Cricket


Coaching Courses



Live Sport

All partners