Last Man Stands Club Awards now open

24 Jun


Cricket Scotland is pleased to announce that nominations for the Last Man Stands Club Awards 2016 are now open. This follows on from the extremely successful inaugural awards from 2015 that saw a record number of nominations. The awards are part of Cricket Scotland`s continued efforts to support clubs and volunteers that are the heart-beat of the game. 

The Last Man Stands Club Awards will celebrate the efforts of Scotland`s cricket clubs and volunteers, and provide a great opportunity for Cricket Scotland to recognise the often unsung heroes that make our game tick. 

We believe the award categories are unique, and will reward those clubs and volunteers that are demonstrating the type of activities that will help Scottish cricket clubs thrive in the future. 

Paul Reddish from Last Man Stands Scotland said “We`re really pleased to support the Club Awards again in 2016. The award categories are exciting and reflect the changing sporting environment across Scotland. Last Man Stands is about offering a new format of the game that is fit for modern sporting tastes and the Club Awards reflect that 21st Century approach.” 

Ian Sandbrook, Head of Participation, said “We would like to thank Last Man Stands for their support of the Club Awards and the development of grassroots cricket.

These awards will celebrate the successes of clubs and volunteers that are proactive and modern in their approach to club development. The standard of the category winners last year was very high and I can wait to see this year`s nominations as I know there`s some fantastic club activities going on.” 

The 6 categories are outlined below and nomination forms attached. All nominations close on Monday 8th August 2016

  1. 1.    Biggest Change-Maker at a Scottish Cricket Club

Is there someone at your club who has initiated significant change that has transformed or is transforming your cricket club for the better? Does this person gain the recognition that they deserve? This award is for a person or a group of people who have shown passion, drive and commitment to develop your club. 

  1. 2.    Scotland`s Most Welcoming Cricket Club

This award is for the club that has gone out of their way to attract, welcome and integrate new members.  They would have used an innovative approach to `look after` their members, that is reflected in the enjoyment and experiences had at the club. 

  1. 3.    Best use of `Bite-Sized` Volunteers

Many clubs still exist due to the hard work of a small handful of committed volunteers. This award is specifically for a club or group that has engaged many volunteers, each playing a small but vital part in effectively delivering an event. 

  1. 4.    Best use of Social Media

This award is for the club that makes best use of social media to communicate with its members and the wider community. This includes any club website, Twitter account, Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat or any other innovative means that clubs use to engage with people. 

  1. 5.    Strongest Community Engagement

This award is for the club that has `Community Engagement` at their heart. They engage people and groups from all parts of their community to grow the game and promote the long-term sustainability of the club 

  1. 6.    Most Innovative and Effective Income Generation

This award is for the club that thinks differently when it comes to income generation. The club club displays an `innovative` approach in order to maximise revenue for the long-term sustainability of their club. 

For information on last year`s winners click on the link below: 

To make a nomination for any of the above categories, please follow the link below and fill in the nomination form.

For clarity, a club can be nominated by one of its own members and individuals/clubs can be nominated for multiple categories.


View other news from June 2016

kit banner

All Stars Cricket


Coaching Courses



Live Sport

All partners