Murgitroyd Rowan Cup Final - 2014

26 Jun



Shawholm is now established as the venue for the Murgitroyd Rowan Cup Final these days but the 90th final has an unusual look to it on one side at least.

Prestwick Cricket Club have made two finals in the 1980s and triumphed in the West League Cup but the Rowan eluded them. 

They may look back just two years though and use the victory of East Kilbride, to become the first new name on the trophy for 49 years, as evidence that the task is not a herculean one.

A young and hungry side, Prestwick are rebuilding after some years in the doldrums and the return of Andy Tennant as coach has obviously had a huge impact on the stabilisation and improvement in the side and skipper Craig Morrison will feel he has the weapons to challenge in the final especially as Prestwick have been one of the few clubs to defeat high flying League leaders Ayr so far this season.

There is a large mountain in the way of Prestwick's bid to become the 15th club to win the Rowan Cup, 20 times winners and hot favourites, Clydesdale Cricket Club.

It is a short journey for the Titwood men down Haggs Road to Shawholm but the trip through the earlier rounds was far from easy for the Premier Division side as they visited some of the most successful clubs of the past 3 years in the West.

First Division Champions East Kilbride and reigning West Premier Winners Uddingston have provided the formidable obstacles on the route to the final but Clydesdale have taken all in their stride and will arrive in Pollok Park full of confidence.

The match will determine which club goes forward to represent the Western Union in the National T20 Finals day, part of the reason for the Rowan Cup breaking with tradition this year and introducing the full ICC T20 rules and the clubs have also been offered the opportunity to play in full colours with the pink ball.

Colin Neill, President of Cricket Scotland will be the Master of Ceremonies on the evening and the stalwart of Renfrew cricket, David Barr, has been asked to present the trophy in keeping with the Western Union tradition of honouring those to have played important roles in the growth of clubs and the game in general in the West.

View other news from June 2014

kit banner

All Stars Cricket


Coaching Courses



Live Sport

All partners would like to store information (cookies) on your computer. By continuing to use this site, you consent to this.
More info