Ramage appointed on U19 CWC umpires panel

18 Jan

The ICC has announced the match officials for the upcoming ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2016, to be held from 27 January to 14 February in Bangladesh.
Scotland’s Ian Ramage is the only Associate and Affiliate umpire selected for the global event.    

Andy Pycroft of the Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees along with Devdas Govindjee and Graeme La Brooy from the ICC Regional Referees Panel will be the match referees for the tournament, while the on-field umpires will be drawn from the International Panel of ICC Umpires, and the ICC Associate and Affiliate Panel of International Umpires.
International panel umpires include Ahmad Shahab, Ahsan Raza, Anisur Rahman, Gregory Brathwaite, Chettithody Shamshuddin, Enamul Hoque Moni, Robert Bailey, Nigel Duguid, Adrian Holdstock, Mick Martell, Jeremiah Matibiri, Phillip Jones, Tim Robinson, Ruchira Palliyaguruge, Langton Rusere, Raveendra Wimalasiri and Sharfuddoula Ibne Shahid.
Adrian Griffith, ICC’s Senior Manager – Umpires and Referee, said: “The panel for this tournament represents an outstanding cross-section of international officials who are among the most experienced currently standing in international cricket. The players will benefit from the calibre of the match officials, with the game’s best young talent exposed to umpiring and refereeing of a high international standard.” 

On the news Cricket Scotland’s Head of Development Ian Sandbrook said, “Ian`s appointment to the U19 World Cup is a great achievement, and reward for his consistent performances over a number of years. The fact that he`s also the only umpire from an associate member makes the achievement all the more impressive. Ian is a great model for Scottish umpires and his achievements show that with dedication umpires in Scotland can get opportunities on the world stage.” 

For all matches, two on-field umpires and a reserve official will be appointed, while for televised matches a TV umpire will also form part of the playing control team. In some of the first round matches, the fourth official will be a local appointment.

View other news from January 2016

kit banner

All Stars Cricket


Coaching Courses



Live Sport

All partners