Scotland announce squad for Afghanistan series

27 Jun

The Scotland selectors have announced their squad to take on Afghanistan in a two One Day International series at the Grange, Edinburgh on Monday 4 and Wednesday 6 July.  

Preston Mommsen leads the side with Kyle Coetzer assuming the role of vice-captain. Brad Wheal returns to the squad for the first time since making his international debut against Hong Kong in January 2016.  

There is also a place for Craig Wallace who has impressed the selectors with an impressive run of form in the domestic game and recent performances in the Cricket Scotland Pro Series.  

Glamorgan’s Ruaidhri Smith has also been handed a call up to the national squad. The 21 year-old first made his appearance for Scotland in 2013 in the YB40 competition. 

The squad features 10 of the players who represented Scotland in the ICC World Twenty20 in India earlier in the year.  

Afghanistan also have the enigmatic Mohammad Shahzad in their ranks along with the leg-spin of Rashid Khan.  

Scotland v Afghanistan matches are always tough close encounters and this two match series is sure to provide more of the same cricketing drama.  

On the announcement of the squad Scotland Head Coach Grant Bradburn said, "Every chance to play higher ranked opposition presents a great opportunity for Scotland and we look forward to taking on Afghanistan at The Grange. 

After a lean period of national fixtures, the squad are looking forward to coming together for the first time since the ICC World T20. Despite some local and County players being unavailable for consideration for this series, we have brought together a very strong exciting side on the back of impressive individual performances in domestic, Regional and County Cricket." 

Both matches will start at 10:45 with entry being £10 for Adults and £5 concessions/OAPs and students (with a valid matriculation card), under 16s free. 

Scotland squad: 
Preston Mommsen, Kyle Coetzer, Alasdair Evans, Brad Wheal, Calum MacLeod, Con de Lange, Craig Wallace, Mark Watt, Matthew Cross, Michael Leask, Richie Berrington, Safyaan Sharif, Ruaidhri Smith.

Afghanistan squad: 
Mohammad Shahzad, Noor Ali Zadran, Javed Ahmadi, Asghar Stanikzai, Rahmat Shah, Mohammad Nabi, Samiullah Shinwari, Najibullah Zadran, Rashid Khan, Mirwais Ashraf, Gulbadin Naib, Dawlat Zadran, Hamid Hassan, Shapoor Zadran, Amir Hamza Hotak, YaminAhmadzai.

View other news from June 2016

kit banner

All Stars Cricket


Coaching Courses



Live Sport

All partners