Scotland scoop ICC Global Development Award

26 Apr

Cricket Scotland claims top prize in ICC Development Programme Annual Awards 2015 

Cricket Scotland has taken the top prize in the ICC Development Programme Annual Awards 2015, claiming the Best Overall Cricket Development Programme Award. 

Cricket Scotland’s Development Programme continues to go from strength to strength, growing cricket across the country with a number of innovate new programmes introduced in 2015.  These programmes include ‘Thriving Clubs’ which provides hands on professional support from experts to cricket clubs, the expansion of ‘Last Man Stands’ across Scottish cities and the  first `Cricket Force` scheme, which was launched in conjunction with Jewson to help improve facilities in local communities.

Last Man Stands Award winnersIan Sandbrook, Head of Participation at Cricket Scotland said, “We are absolutely delighted to receive the ICC Global Award for the Best Overall Development Programme. This is great recognition for our clubs, schools, coaches, volunteers and staff that have all put in a huge amount of effort to grow and sustain the game we love. This award is truly down to the efforts of these fantastic people. 

We are continually looking at how we can improve our work with clubs, schools and other key stakeholders to attract new people to the game and build a sustainable future for cricket. Great initiatives like the Thriving Clubs Programme, CricketForce, Community Coaching Programme, our new Club Awards, Last Man Stands leagues, the roll out of the curriculum for excellence programme, and our continued growth in female cricket, has started to establish a stronger foundation for the game to flourish. From my perspective, we have only just started, and we`re absolutely committed to building on this to take cricket to the next level in Scotland.” 

The judging panel for these awards featured ICC Chairman Mr. Manohar and President Mr. Zaheer Abbas.

ICC’s Head of Global Development Tim Anderson said: “I’m very happy to congratulate and recognise the 2015 winners of the ICC Development Awards who all demonstrate a great amount of dedication and enthusiasm to grow our great sport across the globe. 

“These awards are very important in identifying individuals and programmes which are helping the game of cricket grow in emerging nations.” 

All ICC Development Programme Annual Awards 2015 winners receive a cricket equipment grant to its national cricket body.  

The prizes are as follows: 

·         Best Overall Cricket Development Programme ($5,000)
·         Lifetime Service Award ($2,000) 
·         Volunteer of the Year ($2,000)
·         Women’s Cricket ‘Behind the Scenes’ Award ($2,000)
·         Spirit of Cricket Award ($2,000)
·         Image of the Year ($2,000)
The 2015 winners are:
·         Best Overall Cricket Development Programme – Scotland
·         Lifetime Service Award - Ireland
·         Volunteer of the Year - Uganda
·         Women’s Cricket ‘Behind the Scenes’ Award - Jersey
·         Spirit of Cricket Award – Vanuatu and Malaysia
·         Image of the Year – Rwanda 

Video below not working?
Your browser may not meet the minimum requirements to view YouTube videos. Please refer to this document for more information.

View other news from April 2016

kit banner

All Stars Cricket


Coaching Courses



Live Sport

All partners