Scotland squad to face Netherlands announced

25 Jun

The Scotland selectors today revealed their squad to face the Netherlands in three one day matches at Titwood, Glasgow on 1, 2 and 4 July. 

These fixtures conclude a busy period of activity between the two governing bodies, after the successful North Sea Pro Series came to a conclusion. 

These matches will provide the Scotland coaching set-up with a clearer picture of the candidates pushing for a place on the plane to the ICC 2015 World Cup in New Zealand next year and will signal the start of Grant Bradburn’s reign as Scotland head coach after relocating from his native New Zealand. 

On the announcement, Bradburn commented, "We are pleased to name a very strong Scotland side for what is an important series for both countries. The recently completed North Sea Pro series has provided valuable international exposure to a large group of aspiring Scottish-based players. 

Wardlaw, Berrington and Mommsen will all feature (IDI/Getty)Locally based players throughout this series have been closely followed and we have rewarded strong performances with selection against Netherlands, joining the majority of our English County based players who are available for this series”. 

The new Scotland Head Coach also commented, ahead of his first set of fixtures in charge, “For me personally this will be exciting times as I take up my post as Head Coach of Scotland during this series. It is both an honour and a privilege to coach Scotland and I am very much looking forward to arriving and rolling my sleeves up in the role. 

My initial visit during the England game in May confirmed for me the abundance of talent and skill that we have in the extended Scotland squad. I sense a strong desire from the players and staff to continually improve and I look forward to arriving in Scotland with my family over the coming days and setting about building on the significant progress Cricket Scotland has made.” 

Matches will start at 10:45am and entry will be free of charge. 

Scotland Squad:

Kyle Coetzer, Preston Mommsen, Richie Berrington, Gavin Main, Matthew Cross, Josh Davey, Alasdair Evans, Majid Haq, Michael Leask, Calum MacLeod, Safyaan Sharif, Hamish Gardiner, Iain Wardlaw.

Netherlands Squad:

Wesley Barresi, Peter Borren (c), Mudassar Bukhari, Ben Cooper, Vivian Kingma, Ahsan Malik, Paul van Meekeren, Stephan Myburgh, Michael Rippon, Thijs van Schelven, Pieter Seelaar, Michael Swart, Eric Szwarczynski.

View other news from June 2014

kit banner

All Stars Cricket


Coaching Courses



Live Sport

All partners