Scotland squad for World Cup Qualifier

17 Dec

The Scottish selectors have named a squad of 15 to compete in the 2015 World Cup Qualifying tournament in New Zealand from the 10th January to 2nd February 2014. 

The team will be led by Kyle Coetzer, with all-rounder Preston Mommsen available after recovering from a pelvic stress fracture. 

Former captain Gordon Drummond returns to the Scotland set-up after missing out on the recent T20 Qualifiers in the UAE.  Freddie Coleman also has a place in the touring party after breaking into the Warwickshire senior squad in 2013. 

Scotland will have the top run scorer from the T20 Qualifier, Matt Machan, in their ranks after the batsman amassed 364 runs in that tournament.

Commenting on the announcement, Chairman of Selectors Iain Kennedy said, "We believe that the squad selected gives us the best chance of helping us achieve our clear goal - which is to win the tournament and secure qualification for the 2015 Cricket World Cup."

There has been three changes to the squad with Preston Mommsen and Freddie Coleman added to strengthen the top order batting, while Gordon Drummond’s selection takes into account the likely conditions in New Zealand and the strong character he adds to the group.

After solid performances in Dubai, Matthew Cross is preferred to David Murphy and Craig Wallace as wicket keeper on the trip”.

In addition to the fifteen-man squad, reserves Craig Wallace and Alasdair Evans will be in Christchurch playing club cricket as cover for any injuries sustained to the main squad. Neil Carter and Calvin Burnett were unavailable for selection.

Scotland squad in full: Kyle Coetzer (capt), Richie Berrington, Freddie Coleman, Matthew Cross, Gordon Drummond, Gordon Goudie, Majid Haq, Moneeb Iqbal, Michael Leask, Calum MacLeod, Matt Machan, Preston Mommsen, Safyaan Sharif, Robert Taylor, Iain Wardlaw.

World Cup Qualifying Fixtures

View other news from December 2013

kit banner

All Stars Cricket


Coaching Courses



Live Sport

All partners