Women's Regional Series Preview

18 Jun

The Women’s Regional Series continues tomorrow with the East of Scotland taking on the Rest of Scotland.

Lochside Park, home of Strathmore CC in Forfar will play host to the fixtures with game one starting at 11am and game two at 3pm.

The Rest are boosted by the debut in Scottish representative cricket of Becky Glen who was born in Scotland and impressed the Wildcats management recently in scoring 42 not out to win a low scoring ECB one-day game almost single handedly for Durham against the Wildcats.

Becky joins a team captained by Wildcats skipper Abbi Aitken and looking for their senior players to step up in the absence of Wildcats leading run scorer Kari Anderson.

With the East having taken an unassailable 2-0 lead in the one day series, a change of format (to T20) represents an opportunity for the Rest of Scotland to turn round their fortunes.

The East are led by Wildcats vice-captain Kathryn Bryce and they will be looking to continue their good start to the summer but must do so without Wildcats players Alice Baldwin, Annette Drummond, Nadia Wheeler and Ruth Willis.

The East hand call ups to Scotland Under 17 players Lucy Bennett, Georgia Henderson, Lisa Thompson and Nina Whitaker. The games will be played with pink balls and will follow the ECB T20 playing conditions in advance of the Wildcats T20 double header next weekend against Oxfordshire and Cheshire.

East of Scotland 

1. Kathryn Bryce © (George Watsons College Women’s CC)
2. Lucy Bennett (George Watson’s College Women’s CC)
3. Sarah Bryce (George Watson’s College Women’s CC)
4. Briony Gillin (Largo CC)
5. Georgia Henderson (George Watsons College Women’s CC)
6. Katie McGill (Carlton CC)
7. Caitlin Ormiston (Gala/St. Boswells CC)
8. Ollie Rae (Carlton CC)
9. Lisa Thompson (Carlton CC)
10. Nina Whitaker (Carlton CC)
11. Kathryn White (St. Boswells CC)

Rest of Scotland: 

1. Abbi Aitken © (Stirling County/Carlton CC)
2. Isobel Couttie – (Huntly CC)
3. Becky Glen – (Durham)
4. Samantha Haggo – (Prestwick/Ayr CC)
5. Lorna Jack – (Stirling County CC)
6. Abtaha Maqsood – (Poloc CC)
7. Jess Mills – (Northern Counties CC)
8. Liz Priddle – (Egremont CC)
9. Anna Pritchard – (Elgin CC)
10. Rachel Scholes – (Stirling County CC)
11. Ellen Watson – (Ayr CC)
12. Lois Wilkinson – (Stirling County CC)

View other news from June 2016

kit banner

All Stars Cricket


Coaching Courses



Live Sport

All partners