ICC 2016 World T20 Fixtures released

11 Dec

The ICC has today announced the fixture schedule for the 2016 World Twenty20 in India which will see Scotland play in the first round of the tournament. 

Scotland will play all their group matches at the iconic Vidarbha stadium in Nagpur.

First up will see the Scots meet Afghanistan in their first match on the evening of March 8, before taking on Zimbabwe two days later. 

With two places available to the group winners into the competition, Scotland will complete their Group B campaign against Hong Kong on March 12. 

The winner will go into a Group 1 of the Super 10 to face England, South Africa, West Indies and Sri Lanka. 

On the announcement Cricket Scotland Chief Executive Malcolm Cannon said, “The team have shown us a glimpse of what they are capable of in getting through as first seed, following the qualifier to get to India in the first instance. 

They’ve earned the right to perform in front of a global audience in a country that has cricket at its heart. 

They’re a dynamic unit that has huge potential and I’ve no doubt they’ll do us proud as they look to reach the second round of the tournament.”

At the official launch of the event in Mumbai this morning ICC Chief Executive Mr David Richardson said, “The ICC World Twenty20 is an event which puts the world’s best cricketers in the shortest format of the game against each other in a nation versus nation contest”

Scotland’s fixtures

8th March (Evening) – v Afghanistan

10th March (PM) – v Zimbabwe

12th March (Evening) – v Hong Kong


View other news from December 2015

kit banner

All Stars Cricket


Coaching Courses



Live Sport

All partners