Scotland women announce ECB Div 2 and Celtic Cup squad

Lizzie Sleet @CricketScotland
July 27, 2017 6 years

The Wildcats have named their squad for the upcoming T20 ECB Division 2 matches against Nottinghamshire and Essex, followed by the Celtic Cup in Forfarshire.

Abbi Aitken will captain the side during a busy schedule as they gain valuable preparation for the ICC Women’s World T20 European/Americas Qualifier in Stirling, starting on 14th August.

Two good victories for their squad during their last two Division 2 outings saw them shoot up the table into fourth position.

Ahead of the matches captain Abbi Aitken said, “We’re about to enter a solid block of competitive cricket and the team are looking forward to testing themselves against Notts and Essex in the final rounds of the ECB T20 championships. After that we’re heading straight to Dundee for the Celtic Cup. Ireland are sending a very strong side over, boasting a lot of experienced players, so this will be ideal preparation for us leading into the T20 qualifiers later in the month.”

“Getting competitive games under our belts before we host the T20 qualifiers in Stirling is vital. The qualifiers will be a good test for us too, where we play Netherlands and USA, with two teams progressing to the global T20 qualifier next year.”

“We’ve lost a few big players for us over the last year and we also have a couple girls missing due to other commitments outwith Cricket Scotlands control. And whilst our full strength squad might not be available, I’m excited at the opportunity that this presents to other players to step up to the plate and show us what they’re capable of.”

Squad: Abbi Aitken ©, Kathryn Bryce (v/c), Sarah Bryce, Priyanaz Chatterji, Becky Glen (Ireland only), Samantha Haggo (Nottinghamshire & Essex only), Lorna Jack (Ireland – Mon-Wed only), Abtaha Maqsood, Ruth Willis (Nottinghamshire & Essex only) Katie McGill, Jess Mills, Caitlin Ormiston (Ireland – Friday only), Liz Priddle, Ollie Rae, Lois Wilkinson.

Upcoming fixtures

ECB Division 2
30th July –  Nottinghamshire (T20)
30th July –  Essex (T20)

Celtic Cup @ Forfarshire
1st July – Ireland (50 over) 11am
2nd July – Ireland (2x T20s) 11am/3pm
4th July– Ireland (T20) 11am

Most Popular News

Latest Videos