Heriot’s win the 2018 Murgitroyd T20

Paul Macari @CricketScotland
September 13, 2018 5 years
Heriot’s win the 2018 Murgitroyd T20

After a disappointing Saturday for Heriot’s in the Citylets Scottish Cup, they picked themselves up on Sunday at Titwood defeating Forfarshire to lift the 2018 Murgitroyd Trophy.

In a rain affected final, Heriot’s won the toss and elected to bowl giving Rory Johnston and Craig Wallace the opportunity to open up with a decent partnership of 75 before Johnston was run out. Watt struck for Heriot’s in the 10th over with two quick wickets leaving Forfs 90 for 3 and then following Leask’s dismissal they moved to 120 for 4 after 15 overs.

Forfarshire made a further 42 runs in the closing 5 overs, posting Heriot’s a target of 163 to win.

Rain delayed the start of the second innings, but once underway, Heriot’s were quickly onto the chase moving to 54 without loss after 5 overs. Forfarshire finally made a breakthrough in the 8th over when Meiri was run out for 26, however with Watt coming in to join Hayes Van der Berg on 51, they moved to 100 before Van der Berg was caught for 61 following a superb catch from Scott Cameron at long on.

Watt followed him back to the clubhouse in the 12th over after a leading edge to short cover and Heriot’s moved to 115 for 3. With black clouds on the horizon after 14 overs rain stopped play and with Heriot’s on 123 for 4 they were comfortably ahead of the DL total of 100 when the match was finally abandoned.

The young groundstaff team at Titwood deserve a huge amount of credit and thanks for their part in staging the final in what were challenging conditions and thanks also to Murgitroyd our sponsors for once again supporting Scotland’s premier domestic T20 tournament.

Congratulations Heriot’s, the 2018 Murgitroyd T20 champions.

Most Popular News

Latest Videos