ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier Fixtures Released

The fixtures for the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier has been revealed today with Scotland placed in Group B with Afghanistan, Zimbabwe, Hong Kong and the runners-up of the ICC World Cricket League Division 2 (Group B).

Lizzie Sleet @CricketScotland
January 15, 2018 6 years

Scotland will open their campaign against Afghanistan (4 March) and will finish the group against Zimbabwe (12 March).

Each side will play the other teams in their group once with the top three from the groups progressing to the Super Six stage. The teams each play three Super Six matches against the sides they did not meet in the group stage. All points won in the groups will be carried over to the Super Six stage apart from those gained against the bottom two from each group.

The finalists will both progress to the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, whilst the Netherlands (ICC World Cricket League Championship winners) and the three highest finishing Associate Members will earn ODI status till 2022 upon the conclusion of the event.

As such, only matches between Afghanistan, Ireland, Hong Kong, Papua New Guinea, Scotland, the Windies, Zimbabwe and potentially the United Arab Emirates (if they qualify) will have ODI status in the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2018.

The 10 teams taking part in the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2018 are split into two groups of five teams. The Windies, Ireland, the Netherlands, Papua New Guinea and winners of the ICC World Cricket League Division 2 make up Group A.

Scotland Fixtures (warm-up matches):

Tuesday, 27 February – Scotland v PNG, Bulawayo Athletic Club (BAC)
Thursday, 1 March –Scotland v Ireland, Queen’s Sports Club (QSC)

Tournament Proper (first round):

Sunday, 4 March – Afghanistan v Scotland, (BAC)
Tuesday, 6 March – Scotland v Hong Kong, BAC
Thursday, 8 March –  Scotland v WCL Div.2 (runners-up), QSC
Monday, 12 March – Zimbabwe v Scotland, BAC

Most Popular News

Latest Videos