ICC Women’s Qualifier Europe 2019: All You Need to Know

Cricket Scotland @CricketScotland
June 20, 2019 4 years

Next week, three teams descend upon La Manga, Spain to compete in the ICC Women’s Qualifier Europe 2019.

But what exactly is this tournament? What is Scotland aiming to qualify for? Here’s all you need to know.

Who is competing in the tournament?

Scotland, Germany and Netherlands.

What is the format?

All matches will be T20.

What are the teams aiming to qualifying for?

The tournament provides two chances to progress to the global stage, with Netherlands and Germany fighting for the remaining spot at the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier in Dundee and Angus beginning in August 2019.

Scotland already qualify for this tournament as hosts.

In addition, the team that finishes top in the ICC Women’s Qualifier Europe 2019 will progress to the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier in late-2020, which is the final stage before the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021 in New Zealand.

So, for Scotland to qualify for the next stage of the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup, we need to finish top of the table.

How long does the tournament last?

The tournament spans Monday 25th to Friday 29th June. You can find our schedule below:

26th June: Scotland vs. Germany (10:30)

26th June: Scotland vs. Netherlands (15:30)

27th June: Scotland vs. Netherlands (15:30)

29th June: Scotland vs. Germany (10:30)

All times are local times.

How can I follow the games?

The ICC will be streaming all games with commentary. You will also be able to follow live scorecards.

In addition, Cricket Scotland will be sharing highlights from the tournament across our Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.

Has Scotland’s squad been announced?

Scotland’s squad was selected at the end of May 2019.

Kathryn Bryce (c) – Eagles, Watsonian CC, Warwickshire

Sarah Bryce (wk) (vc) – Eagles, Watsonian CC, Nottinghamshire

Priyanaz Chatterji – Stormers, Forfarshire CC, Surrey

Katherine Fraser – Eagles, Stew Mel/Edinburgh South CC

Becky Glen – Stormers, Durham

Sam Haggo – Eagles, Carlton CC

Lorna Jack – Stormers, Stirling County CC, PSOS CC

Abtaha Maqsood – Stormers, West of Scotland CC

Megan McColl – Stormers, Arbroath United CC

Katie McGill – Eagles, Edinburgh South CC

Hannah Rainey – Eagles, Carlton CC

Rachel Scholes – Stormers, West of Scotland CC

Charis Scott – Eagles, Gala CC

Ruth Willis – Eagles, Carlton CC

Who makes up Scotland’s support staff?

Scotland will be supported by Steven Knox (Head Coach), Peter Ross (Assistant Coach), and Sue Strachan (Team Manager).


Most Popular News

Latest Videos