International cricket set for Glasgow return

Four games will be hosted at Titwood, the home of Clydesdale Cricket Club, with the remaining two games held at The Grange in Edinburgh as part of Cricket World Cup League 2.

Cricket Scotland @CricketScotland
February 28, 2020 4 years
International cricket set for Glasgow return

Cricket Scotland today announces this summer’s ICC Cricket World Cup League 2 home fixtures will be jointly hosted at The Grange in Edinburgh and Titwood in Glasgow, the home of Clydesdale Cricket Club. 

Scotland will host Nepal and Namibia in the ninth round of the highly competitive league and with Scotland currently lying in third place, the squad will be keen to use home advantage and win all four of their fixtures.

Four of the six Cricket World Cup League 2 matches will be staged at Titwood between Saturday 4th and Saturday 11th July, with the two remaining fixtures being played at The Grange in Edinburgh.

Pictured: Calum MacLeod scores 145 against the Netherlands at Titwood in 2014

Chairman of Cricket at Clydesdale CC Jat Dhami said: “We are delighted at the prospect of international cricket returning to Titwood. 

“It’s been some time and it will give a new generation of Clydesdale members an exciting opportunity to deliver these games. I’m sure Nepal and Namibia will receive a warm Glasgow welcome.”

Titwood last saw international cricket in 2014, when Scotland hosted The Netherlands in three 50-over games. 

Cricket Scotland’s Chief Executive Gus Mackay said: “We are pleased to announce Titwood and The Grange as the venues for Cricket World Cup League 2, who have been awarded these games as a result of a tender process all five ODI venues in Scotland went through for us to allocate these matches. 

Taking our Cricket World Cup League 2 games to other parts of Scotland is part of our long-term strategy to grow the game and take international cricket to every community.”

Pictured: Safyaan Sharif, Kyle Coetzer, Richie Berrington and Calum MacLeod at Titwood in 2014

Fixtures will be announced in early March with tickets going on sale in April.

What is Cricket World Cup League 2?

The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup League 2 is a two-and-half-year competition involving seven teams that are two steps away from the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023

Men’s CWC League 2 – which sits one tier under the Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League – will see 21 tri-series played. Participating teams NamibiaNepalOmanPapua New GuineaScotlandUnited Arab Emirates and United States of America will play 36 One Day Internationals each on the Road to India 2023.

From August 2019 to January 2022 a total of 126 matches will be played, with the top three teams in the standings qualifying for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2022.


Most Popular News

Latest Videos