Michael Leask and Safyaan Sharif to tour Pakistan with MCC

Captained by Kumar Sangakkara, the MCC will play Lahore Qalandars, Multan Sultans and Pakistan’s domestic T20 champions, Northern.

Cricket Scotland @CricketScotland
January 30, 2020 4 years
Michael Leask and Safyaan Sharif to tour Pakistan with MCC

Scotland duo Michael Leask and Safyaan Sharif have been named in the MCC’s 12-man squad to visit Lahore in Pakistan next month for a series of matches.

Captained by Kumar Sangakkara, the MCC will play two Pakistan Super League teams – Lahore Qalandars and Multan Sultans – and will also face Pakistan’s domestic T20 champions, Northern.

The fixture dates are yet to be confirmed by MCC.

Shane Burger, Scotland Men’s Head Coach, said: “To be selected in any MCC team is always an honour and a privilege and will provide our players with an opportunity to tour a new destination and experience different conditions.

Playing with the likes of Kumar Sangakarra will no doubt be a learning experience and we thank the MCC for the inclusion of both Safyaan Sharif and Michael Leask.

“Cricket Scotland wishes them a safe journey and a successful trip to Pakistan.”

Speaking of the tour, Marylebone Cricket Club said: “The concept of an MCC tour to the country has been a long-stated aim of the MCC World Cricket committee. It is a clear demonstration of the Club’s support for Pakistan’s cricketers and fans, who have been affected by the country’s decade-long exile from hosting international cricket, which came to an end last month.”

John Stephenson, MCC Assistant Secretary (Cricket) said: “We are thrilled to be able to name a strong squad for this tour, which blends youth and experience for a strong side of high quality. 

“We have really appreciated the collaborative approach from the Pakistan Cricket Board and the Pakistan Super League, which has enabled us to arrange fixtures against sides preparing for this year’s PSL tournament as well as to secure the services of some of those participating.”

MCC squad to tour Pakistan:

Kumar Sangakkara (President/Captain)
Guy Lavender (Tour Manager)
John Stephenson (Assistant Manager)
Ajmal Shahzad (Head Coach)
Ravi Bopara (Sussex)
Michael Burgess (Warwickshire)
Oliver Hannon-Dalby (Warwickshire)
Fred Klaassen (Kent)
Michael Leask (Scotland)
Aaron Lilley (Leicestershire)
Imran Qayyum (Kent)
Will Rhodes (Warwickshire)
Safyaan Sharif (Scotland)
Roelof van der Merwe (Somerset)
Ross Whiteley (Worcestershire)

The following three players, who will appear in the upcoming Pakistan Super League, will each represent MCC in one match on the tour:

Liam Dawson (Hampshire/Peshawar Zalmi)
Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire/Lahore Qalandars)
Phil Salt (Sussex/Islamabad United)        


Most Popular News

Latest Videos