Murgitroyd T20 Finals Day 2017

Lizzie Sleet @CricketScotland
July 29, 2017 6 years
Murgitroyd T20 Finals Day 2017
The national Murgitroyd T20 winners Grange with last year's trophy (Donald MacLeod)

The Murgitroyd T20 Cup will reach its conclusion on Sunday when all four regional champions face off at Shawholm, home of Poloc Cricket Club.

The first semi-final of the day is between Dumfries vs Watsonians sees the Boarder winners play winners of the Murgitroyd Masterton Cup, Watsonians.

Dumfries made their way to the final after beating Kelso Cricket Club by 23 runs, with Dumfries set 151 after 20 overs with Josh Forsyth scoring 76. Kelso fell short and were all out for 130 after and Chris Bellwood took 4 wickets for 7 runs.

Watsonians reached finals day after seeing off Heriots in a thriller at Grange Loan. George Munsey hit 118 off 51 balls, with Watsonians setting 211-4 from their 20 overs. Heriots finished on 189 all out, losing the match by 22 runs.

These two begin the day’s play at 11am.

Clydesdale face Forfarshire in the second semi-final.

Forfarshire Cricket Club were crowned Murgitroyd Caledonian regional winners after beating rivals Arbroath United by seven wickets. Arbroath set 123 for 7 after 20 overs, but Forfarshire chased that down, getting 126 for 3 after 17 overs, with former Arbroath player Matthew Parker hitting 47.

Clydesdale beat Prestwick by 35 runs after rain stopped Clydesdale’s run chase of Prestwick’s 162. Clydesdale were 132 for 2 after the 13th over, with Dale’s Richie Berrington on 42*, when the umpires put an end to the match. They were declared winners by being well ahead on DLS system.

These two face off at 1:45pm

The final is scheduled to begin at 4pm.

Most Popular News

Latest Videos