Past and present Scotland players presented with caps at women’s ceremony

Cricket Scotland @CricketScotland
September 12, 2019 4 years
Past and present Scotland players presented with caps at women’s ceremony

On Saturday 31 August during the Scotland vs USA match at Forthill Sports Club, 33 past and present Scotland players were awarded their official cap with player number.

The ceremony, hosted by Cricket Scotland Chair Tony Brian, was a wonderful opportunity to catch up with former team mates from the past 19 years going back to the first fixture on 11 June 2000. Six players from that very first year attended the ceremony at Forthill.

All attending players signed the Saltire flag that will hang in the Scotland changing room for every women’s fixture in recognition of those that paved the way to allow Scottish women’s cricket to be where it is today. 

Abbi Aitken-Drummond, player and spearhead of the iniative, said: “The current players are very aware that Scottish women’s cricket and the national team have come a long way and that the road to where we are now has not always been an easy one.

“It means a lot to have those pioneers with us, whenever we go out to represent our country. Seventy-two players have represented Scotland so far and there are still a number of players out there that we would love to come forward to receive their cap and sign the flag.”

The following players – as well as those in the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier squad – were awarded with their caps:

Jennifer MacGregor (nee Mudie) (4)

Linda Spence (9)

Kathryn White (11)

Aileen Galvin (12)

Elizabeth Smith (13)

Lisa Mcdonald (nee Mudie) (17)

Charlotte Bascombe (19)

Caroline Mitchell (nee Sweetman) (22)

Annette Aitken-Drummond (23)

Fiona Campbell (26)

Sahar Humayoon (nee Aslam) (27)

Diane Pedgrift (28)

Leigh Kasperek (32)

Samantha Haggo (36)

Stacey Christie (42)

Caitlin Ormiston (57)

Laura Grant (67)

Charis Scott (68)

Ailsa Lister (70)

Abbi Hogg (72)

Most Popular News

Latest Videos