Scotland men add thirteenth contracted player for new season

Cricket Scotland @CricketScotland
April 20, 2021 3 years
Scotland men add thirteenth contracted player for new season

Cricket Scotland has announced that thirteen players have signed contracts for the 2021/22 season, with Tom Sole joining the 12 existing full-time team members whose deals have been renewed for another year.

Cricket Scotland management worked with the players and Scottish Cricketers’ Association to negotiate the new contracts which run until April 2022.

All 12 of the previously contracted players from Head Coach Shane Burger’s squad have been retained, with 24-year-old all-rounder Sole being added to the group on a six-month contract.

Scotland have not played competitively since December 2019 due to COVID-19, but Burger’s team, who returned to training at the start of April, has a busy summer ahead culminating in the ICC T20 World Cup in India in October.

“It’s great to have all of the contracts signed and, despite all of the financial difficulties caused by the pandemic, have been able to add another player contract,” said Burger.

“I’m really happy to have Tom on board. We see him having massive potential as a player and becoming a future star for Scotland.

“We can now focus on a busy and exciting year of cricket ahead knowing that we’re in the best position to meet our targets.  We want to make sure we are doing everything in our power to have the players as ready as they can be to represent Scotland in the T20 World Cup and play the best cricket that we can.”

Scotland will face the Netherlands in two ODI’s in Rotterdam in May to get their 2021 campaign underway.

Under the contract structure, players in both ODI and T20 formats receive a ‘ranking’ based on their performances on the pitch, as well as a number of other factors, including off-field contribution, fielding and fitness. Those rankings then correlate with the level of remuneration.

Contracted Scotland players for 2021/22

Kyle Coetzer

Richard Berrington

Calum MacLeod

Ali Evans

Craig Wallace

Dylan Budge

George Munsey

Hamza Tahir

Mark Watt

Matthew Cross

Michael Leask

Safyaan Sharif

Tom Sole

Most Popular News

Latest Videos