Cricket Scotland @CricketScotland
September 29, 2023 2 months
ICC World Cup Qualifier Europe - Scotland v Italy 230724 Fantastic 100 for Scotland's Oil Hairs as Scotland take on Italy in the ICC World Cup Qualifier Europe at the Grange, Edinburgh, Scotland, UK Credit: Cricket Scotland/Ian Jacobs

The Scotland Men’s ‘A’ squad has been confirmed for the European Cricket Championships, taking place at Cártama Oval, Malaga, in October.

The competition, which is run in a T10 format, was won by the Netherlands last year, with Scotland finishing third. This year, the Scots face Portugal, Norway, Luxembourg, and Germany in Group F, on October 12-13, in their bid to qualify for Finals Week.

Taimoor AhmadFerguslie
Jamie DunkOld Northamptonians
Michael EnglishAyr
Callum GardenForfarshire
Owen GouldRH Corstorphine
Callum GrantStenhousemuir
Oli HairsWatsonians
Jack HogarthForfarshire
Mackenzie JonesColchester
Chris McBrideDumfries
Liam NaylorWatsonians
Charlie PeetGrange
Lyle RobertsonForfarshire
Kess SajjadWest of Scotland

Dan Sutton will act as Coaching Lead, assisted by Oli Hairs, who will combine coaching with a playing role and will be a key player after showing great form at the ICC World T20 Europe Qualifier during the summer.

A number of players not selected were considered, but were unavailable for a variety of reasons, including injury, work and overseas commitments.

Toby Bailey, Cricket Scotland’s Interim Head of Performance, said:

“Our experience last year showed the development opportunities that exist for those participating in this competition. This year we’ve picked a fresh squad to align with those goals.

“There is a nice mix of experience and youth in the squad, from those who have had recent success playing international cricket, to some members of the U19 squad that recently qualified for the World Cup in January, as well as quite a few who have been performing consistently at domestic level for some time and who have been knocking on the door.

“It’s also a great chance for us to get some high-quality cricket in a pressurised environment, in a unique format under the lights and in front of television cameras, so we’re looking forward to a competitive and exciting week.”

Scotland fixtures and tournament format (all times local):

Group F

After a round-robin stage, the top four teams in the group play a knockout round using a playoff system. The winner of this advances to Championship Week.

October 12v Portugal1030
October 12v Norway1500
October 13v Luxembourg1300
October 13v Germany1930

Championship Week (October 16-20) – schedule TBC

The Championship Week features last year’s champions, Netherlands, as well as the six group winners. After a round-robin stage, the top four teams advance to the knockout rounds, resulting in a final on October 20.

Most Popular News

Latest Videos