Scotland Men’s CWCL2 Namibia series squad announced

Cricket Scotland @CricketScotland
November 14, 2022 10 months
Scotland Men’s CWCL2 Namibia series squad announced
ICC Men's Cricket World Cup League 2 - Scotland v Namibia 10/07/2022 Scotland play host to Namibia in the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup League 2 at Titwood, Glasgow.

Scotland men’s squad for the next CWCL2 series versus Namibia and Nepal was announced today (Monday 14th) which includes former captain Kyle Coetzer and the uncapped Tom Mackintosh.

With eight matches left to play and Scotland lying 2nd in the table four points behind Oman who have completed all their fixtures, this series presents Shane Burger’s squad with the opportunity to take a massive step towards winning the league.

The selectors have made three changes from the August series with Richie Berrington, Brandon McMullen and Tom Mackintosh replacing Calum Macleod, Craig Wallace and Gavin Main. Calum Macleod recently announced his retirement from international cricket and Gavin Main, along with Dylan Budge, Brad Wheal and Josh Davey, were not available for selection due to other commitments. Additionally, Michael Jones is injured.

Commenting on the upcoming series, Scotland men’s Head Coach Shane Burger said ” The CWCL2 squad is preparing for what will be an important series in Namibia versus two of the teams competing for the qualifying spots.

“We have announced an exciting squad with a couple of new names in it and I think this gives us a good blend of youth and experience and feel we have all bases covered.

“We know what we need to do to secure top spot in the table and I am looking forward to the challenges ahead.”

Interim Head of Performance Toby Bailey said “I am pleased at the continuation of our new selection process and the way this was conducted. It is really encouraging that the selectors were able to choose from a pool of 38 players.

“We are delighted that the squad includes a number of younger players and the tour will give them vital experience and opportunities to show and develop their skills. We have not toured Namibia for over ten years and the squad will be tested by two top associate teams.”

Scotland’s first match in the Namibia series is versus the hosts on 1st December in Windhoek (7.30am GMT) and following that they will play Nepal (4th), Namibia (5th) and Nepal (8th). All matches in the series will be broadcast on ICC TV.

Scotland Squad

1. Richie Berrington (c)

2.Matthew Cross (vc)

3.Chris McBride 

4. Kyle Coetzer 

5. George Munsey 

6. Brandon McMullen 

7. Michael Leask 

8. Mark Watt 

9. Safyaan Sharif 

10. Chris Sole 

11.Hamza Tahir 

12. Adrian Neill

13. Tom Mackintosh 

14. Chris Greaves

Current league standings are available HERE

Selection policy is available HERE

Most Popular News

Latest Videos