Scotland to Host Two ICC European Qualifiers

Cricket Scotland @CricketScotland
December 15, 2020 3 years
Scotland to Host Two ICC European Qualifiers

Following the success of the ICC Women’s World Cup Global qualifier in Dundee & Angus last year, Scotland has enhanced its reputation as a perfect stage for ICC qualifying tournaments with easy transport links and a healthy choice of grounds with quality pitches.

ICC Women’s T20 World Cup

On Saturday 12th December the ICC announced the confirmed schedule for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup qualifying pathway on the road to South Africa 2023 as ICC women’s cricket events return.

The 10-team World Cup which has now been rescheduled to 9 to 26 February 2023 will see the hosts South Africa and the seven top teams on the MRF Tyres ICC Women’s T20I Team Rankings as of 30 November 2021 – from the teams that competed at the Australia 2020 event – qualify automatically for the 2023 edition.

The remaining two spots will be determined through a qualification process which is scheduled to start at regional level in August 2021 and includes 37 teams.

The European qualifier will be held 26 to 30 August and Scotland will compete with Ireland, Netherlands, Germany, France and Turkey to earn a qualifying spot in the Global Qualifier to be held in 2022. Host venues will be announced shortly.

ICC Men’s U19 Wolrd Cup

On Sunday 13th December, the ICC announced that the ICC U19 Men’s World Cup European Qualifier will also be staged in Scotland next year between 30 July and 5 August.

Qualification for the 2022 edition of the U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup was delayed by a year due to COVID-19.. The rescheduled qualification pathway to the finals was announced by the ICC today and Scotland will face Ireland, Netherlands, Denmark, Jersey and Guernsey for the World Cup spot.

The 14th edition of the event which takes place in the West Indies in early 2022 will involve Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies and Zimbabwe by virtue of their top 11 finish in the 2020 edition. The remaining five spots will be determined by regional qualification.

The road to the West Indies which showcases the future stars of cricket will begin in Tanzania with the Africa Division 2 in June 2021.  The Asia region which also has two divisions will see two qualifiers whilst USA will host the Americas Qualifier competing for the single qualification spot.

The European qualifier will take place in the west of Scotland being hosted at Ayr CC, Clydesdale CC and Uddingston CC.

Cricket Scotland CEO Gus Mackay said “ To be awarded two European qualifying events next year provides us with a massive opportunity to continue raising the profile of cricket in Scotland.

“Having a home crowd behind us will give both our National Women and U19 Men’s sides a real boost and hopefully we can celebrate qualifying for both World Cups.

“2020 has been a challenging year for us all, however it is great news to see the 2021 cricket calendar filling up and that the ICC is continuing to back Scotland to deliver successful regional events.’

Most Popular News

Latest Videos