Selectors name 24-man squad for England and Pakistan matches

Lizzie Sleet @CricketScotland
May 9, 2018 6 years
Selectors name 24-man squad for England and Pakistan matches

The selectors for the men’s national team have named their provisional 24-man squad ahead of their One Day International against England (10 June) and T20 Internationals against Pakistan (12 and 13 June).

The match against England, who have recently been named as the number one ODI side in the world, is now a complete sell out. However, tickets for the two Pakistan fixtures are still available.

The June international programme is an exciting opportunity for the Scotland team to play in front of our home crowd and continue the progress made over the past 12 months, most recently at the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifiers in Zimbabwe where they narrowly missed out on a spot at the 2019 Cricket World Cup.

The squad will be cut down to 14 in early June ahead of the fixtures.

On the announcement of the squad Head Coach Grant Bradburn said, “To play such quality Full Member teams, both currently ranked no1 in the respective formats, is a rare chance for our team who are desperate to challenge both England and Pakistan on home soil.

With both one day and T20 formats to play throughout June, the selectors have sent a clear message to the ‘A’ Team and Regional competition as a clear pathway to national selection.

After four early season ‘A’ Team fixtures and the first round of the Tilney Regional Pro Series, there has been some stand out performances from the next tier, which is a really healthy sign of quality and depth.

The inclusion of some new faces is exciting and is a sign of the skill sets we are looking for in terms of playing winning cricket against top International sides. Scotland have shown an ability to play positively and there is a strong desire to build on that mindset as we look to hunt history in June.”

Provisional 24-man Squad: Kyle Coetzer, Richie Berrington, Dylan Budge, Scott Cameron, Matthew Cross, Josh Davey, James Dickinson, Michael English, Ali Evans, Michael Jones, Michael Leask, Ross Lyons, Calum MacLeod, Preston Mommsen, George Munsey, Mitchell Rao, Safyaan Sharif, Chris Sole, Tom Sole, Hamza Tahir, Craig Wallace, Mark Watt, Brad Wheal, Stuart Whittingham.

Tickets for the Pakistan T20 matches are available HERE

Most Popular News

Latest Videos