Squad Selected for ICC Women’s Qualifier Europe 2019

A 14-strong Scotland squad has been selected for the ICC Women's Europe Qualifier 2019 from 24 to 30 June in Spain.

Cricket Scotland @CricketScotland
May 31, 2019 5 years

Cricket Scotland today announces a 14-strong squad to travel to Spain at the end of June for the ICC Women’s Qualifier Europe 2019 between Germany, Netherlands and Scotland.

The tournament, held in La Manga, provides two chances to progress to the global stage, with Netherlands and Germany fighting for the remaining spot at the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier in Scotland in August/September 2019 – for which Scotland already qualify as hosts.

In addition, the team that finishes top in the ICC Women’s Qualifier Europe 2019 will progress to the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier in late-2020, which is the final stage before the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021 in New Zealand.


Kathryn Bryce (c) – Eagles, Watsonian CC, Warwickshire

Sarah Bryce (wk) (vc) – Eagles, Watsonian CC, Nottinghamshire

Priyanaz Chatterji – Stormers, Forfarshire CC, Surrey

Katherine Fraser – Eagles, Stew Mel/Edinburgh South CC

Becky Glen – Stormers, Durham

Sam Haggo – Eagles, Carlton CC

Lorna Jack – Stormers, Stirling County CC

Abtaha Maqsood – Stormers, West of Scotland CC

Megan McColl – Stormers, Arbroath United CC

Katie McGill – Eagles, Edinburgh South CC

Hannah Rainey – Eagles, Carlton CC

Rachel Scholes – Stormers, West of Scotland CC

Charis Scott – Eagles, Gala CC

Ruth Willis – Eagles, Carlton CC

Steven Knox, National Women’s Coach, said: “This was without question the most difficult squad we’ve had to pick in my time as coach of the Wildcats.

“Several girls missed out who have worked extremely hard since the squad started preparing back in November but I’m confident that these girls will react in a positive way and force their way back into our plans through their performances in club, regional and performance pathway teams.

“It’s great to welcome Samantha Haggo back into the squad for the first time since 2017 and exciting that three teenagers in Megan McColl, Charis Scott and Katherine Fraser will be heading to their first tournament representing the senior squad. That’s testament to the excellent pathway that we now have established in Scotland and all three have played leading roles for Scotland Under 17s in the past couple of years.

“The squad is undoubtedly a young one but has an experienced core and the expectation will be on these players to deliver as we look to qualify for next year’s Global 50-Over Qualifier and move up the World T20 rankings at the same time.”

Simon Smith, High Performance Manager, commented: “It’s fitting that the Wildcats will have their opportunity to take centre stage during what is a huge year for women’s sport in this country.

“The selectors have named a dynamic squad for this Qualifier and we know they are determined to express themselves and make Scotland proud.

“The core of the group can draw on the experiences gained over recent campaigns, and the new faces will provide an exciting point of difference. We look forward to the nation uniting behind the squad as we set out on the next stage of our journey.”

Scotland’s Schedule

Wednesday 26th June: Scotland vs. Germany (10:30)

Wednesday 26th June: Scotland vs. Netherlands (15:30)

Thursday 27th June: Netherlands vs. Scotland (15:30)

Saturday 29th June: Germany vs. Scotland (10:30)

Live scoring and video streaming of all matches will be available on and Cricket Scotland channels.

*Squad subject to change

Most Popular News

Latest Videos