T20 Blitz Preview – May 20 2018

Lizzie Sleet @CricketScotland
May 18, 2018 6 years
T20 Blitz Preview – May 20 2018
Cricket Scotland - T20 Blitz - the victorius Western Warriors - picture by Donald MacLeod -

Colin Mitchell, the Western Warriors manager, expects fireworks when his side launch the defence of their Tilney Group T20 Blitz title with a home double header on Sunday.

The Glasgow-based region face the Eastern Knights at noon before a 4pm meeting with Caley Highlanders at Titwood and Mitchell would love to see the Warriors continue where they left off last season.

Richie Berrington’s remarkable 64-ball century saw the Warriors clinch the title in thrilling style at The Grange last September.

Mitchell said: “We see this not so much as a new campaign but the beginning of our title defence and that will add intensity to a group who already have real drive.

“Our core ethos and approach to playing T20 won’t change – we will play with aggressive intent and we expect the same from our opponents.

“There are three quality squads in this tournament and all the players know they are in the spotlight so it’s going to be extremely competitive.”

The Warriors were forced into a late change when Scotland wicket-keeper Matthew Cross withdrew with a shoulder injury.

His place goes to in-form Ferguslie star Dave Stafford and Mitchell added: “Dave played last season and brings real flair to T20. He has a great ability to get games over the line.”

Meanwhile, the Knights have two T20 Blitz debutants in their line-up in Corstorphine keeper Sam Flett and Carlton’s Australian all-rounder Michael Castle.

Andrew Brock’s team may have revenge on their minds after going down to the Warriors in a Pro50 encounter a fortnight ago.

Caley Highlanders, featuring no fewer than eight Forfarshire players, will aim for a repeat of last year’s victory over the Warriors at Broughty Ferry, a match in which skipper Kyle Coetzer set the tone with a typically hard-hitting 80.

Western Warriors: Richie Berrington (captain), Muhammad Awais, Michael English, Riyaad Henry, Fazal Jawad, Ross Lyons, Calum MacLeod, Ihtisham Malik, Scott McElnea, Mitchell Rao, Adil Raza, Dave Stafford, Hamza Tahir.

Eastern Knights: Andrew Brock (captain) Preston Mommsen (vice-captain), George Munsey, Michael Carson, Gordon Goudie, Dylan Budge, Mark Watt, Michael Castle (Overseas), Nick Farrar, Sam Flett, Ali Evans. 12th man Tom Foulds.

Caledonian Highlanders: Kyle Coetzer (captain), Ryan Brown, Scott Cameron, Brock Ditchmen, Callum Garden, Chris Greaves, Jack Hogarth, Michael Leask, Christian Robertson, Safyaan Sharif, Chris Venske, Craig Wallace.

Most Popular News

Latest Videos