Watsonians lift 2017 Murgitroyd T20 trophy

Lizzie Sleet @CricketScotland
April 30, 2018 6 years
Watsonians lift 2017 Murgitroyd T20 trophy
Watsonians win the 2018 Murgitroyd T20 Trophy - Pictures: Donald MacLeod

The 2017 Murgitroyd Finals day eventually managed to get played on 29 April 2018 at Stirling CC.

The two semi-finals, played simultaneously on the top and bottom pitches, saw Watsonians play Dumfries while Clydesdale met Forfarshire.

Watsonians won the toss and elected to bat first and enjoyed a good start thanks to 41 from George Munsey after losing Dewald Nel and Michael Carson.

Brendon O’Connell helped Watsonians to a very competitive 144/5 after blasting an unbeaten 46, although Scott Beveridge claimed two wickets for Dumfries at the back-end of the innings.

In reply, Dumfries lost Beveridge for 17 before three wickets fell with the score on 53 to take the wind out of the chase. Niall Alexander hit a spirited 23 but wickets tumbled as the innings progressed as the Borders men came up 33 runs short, as Watsonians booked their place in the final.

On the top pitch Forfarshire and Clydesdale played out an entertaining encounter which went down to the final over.

Clydesdale propelled themselves to 127 after their innings had been briefly stopped by a rain shower. Forfarshire made a strong start in their chase but a cluster of quick wickets meant the score was on 78/5 after 12 overs.

Scotland international Michael Leask gave the Broughty Ferry side hope, but indecision going for a second run cost him his wicket, which swung the game back in Clydesdale’s favour.

George Munsey hits out in the final to help Watsonians to the cup

12 runs were required of the final over, but the Western side held their nerve to close out the game and move into the final.

The sun came out for the showpiece final as Clydesdale won the toss and elected to bat first. Paddy Barbour and Annan batted well to take the score to 45 before Watsonians struck back with quick wickets.

Dhami and Scobie were the only other batsmen to reach double figures as O’Connell and Carson both claimed three scalps as Clydesdale were bundled out for 92.

George Munsey stole the show with a fabulous batting performance to lead Watsonians to victory, smashing 4 fours and 7 mighty sixes from just 28 deliveries. Carson played second fiddle with 22 as they strode over the finish line with all their wickets intact.

Captain Ewan Chalmers was presented the trophy by the new Cricket Scotland President Willie Donald. A special mention to the ground-staff and Stirling CC who hosted a superb event.

Cricket Scotland would also like to thank Murgitroyd for their continues support in sponsoring the tournament.

Most Popular News

Latest Videos