The Men's 10K Challenge Cup

Domestic Competitions

This years Mens10K Challenge Cup final will be played at Carlton CC in Edinburgh on Saturday 8th September

The 2018 Men’s 10K Challenge Cup Final will be contested between Leith DAB and Falkland on 8th September 2018 at Grange Loan in Edinburgh.

This years semi-finals saw Falkland overcome Stenhousemuir in their semi-final scoring 190 for 6, while in reply Stenhousemuir were all out for 71.

The other semi-final between Perth Doo’cot and Forres St Lawrence was a very tight affair with the scores tied on 201 runs each after 40 overs. Forres St Lawrence won the match having lost fewer wickets.
Subsequent to the semi final Forres St Lawrence were disqualified for playing ineligible players in their first round match v Leith FAB.  As a result in the re-arranged quarter-final,  Leith triumphed versus Marchmont on 5th August to set up a semi-final versus Perth Doo’cot on the 12th August. After ten weeks of sun the heavens opened on the 12th and no play was possible, therefore both teams agreed that a toss of the coin was the best option to determine Falklands opponents in the final.

Luck was on the side of Leith FAB.

About the Men’s 10K

The first Men’s 10K took place in Glasgow in 2004, originally started by the Men’s Health Forum Scotland as a focal point for raising awareness of men’s health issues. The event continues to help thousands of men on their journey to becoming a fitter, healthier and happier people.

Both the Men’s 10K Glasgow in June, and the Men’s 10K Edinburgh in November offer spectacular routes through the heart of two beautiful cities.

For more information on how to sign up for the Men’s 10k can be found HERE

About the Challenge Cup

The Men’s 10K Challenge Cup is open to clubs not eligible to play in the Scottish Cup while clubs in the WDCU First Division, the East of Scotland Championship and the Strathmore & Perthshire Cricket Union North East Championship have the option to play in the Challenge Cup or the Scottish Cup. The competition was extended in 2017 to include clubs who would have previously competed in the Small Clubs Cup.