2013 ASDA National Primary Schools’ Cup

19 Jun

Loretto were 2013 ASDA winners

The 2013 ASDA National Primary Schools’ Cup culminated with a National Finals’ Day at the picturesque Doo’Cot Park in Perth, on Tuesday 18th June.

In order to reach Finals’ Day, Primary Schools had won through a series of Regional Qualifying Tournaments.  This format has ensured that Cricket Scotland has been able to continue to generate further interest, and additional participation, in the game – as well as providing a competitive outlet for primary school cricket teams.  Over 500 schools entered, resulting in over 5000 school pupils being able to participate in the competition.  

Finals’ Day saw 16 schools, from all across the country, meet in Perth for a day of exciting, and well-contested, cricket.  After 40 games, Loretto Junior School emerged as the 2013 National Champions – defeating Drumlanrig & Denholm in the final.

Kwik CricketThe final placings on the day were as follows:

1)      Loretto Junior School
2)      Drumlanrig & Denholm Primary Schools
3)      Portmoak Primary School
4)      George Watson’s College
5)      Applegrove Primary School
6)      Donibristle Primary School
7)      Gordon Primary School
8)      Langholm Primary School
9)      Hutchesons’ Grammar School
10)    Rosebank Primary School
11)    Errol Primary School
12)    Timmergreens Primary School
13)    James Gillespie’s Primary School
14)    Williamston Primary School
15)    Fossoway Primary School
16)    Craigbank Primary School

Runners up

Cricket Scotland would like to congratulate all 16 schools that reached Finals’ Day on their achievements and we would like to thank all the schools that participated in the competition.  

Special thanks must go to the sponsors ASDA, to the Gannochy Trust for hosting Finals’ Day and to all school staff, parents and other volunteers who helped to make the 2013 competition such a success.

View other news from June 2013

kit banner

All Stars Cricket


Coaching Courses



Live Sport

All partners