2013 Murgitroyd Rowan Cup Final

27 Jun

From Western District Cricket Union

As the ECB Twenty20 season gets underway, the world's oldest Twenty20 comeptition reaches a climax at Shawholm on Thursday evening, the 27th of June.

Kelburne have battled their way through three away ties at Clydesdale, East Kilbride and local rivals Ferguslie, defending a total in Round One and successfully chasing in the other matches. The Paisley side go into the final looking to end a long barren run in the Rowan Cup with their last triumph coming in 1952, just months before the coronation of HM Queen Elizabeth II.

Drumpellier may have travelled less to reach this stage but their route was no less difficult. CSL Premier sides Renfrew and West of Scotland were defeated at Langloan, then great rivals Uddingston were vanquished in a thrilling semi-final at Bothwell. The Coatbridge men bring a moderately more successful Rowan Cup history to the final, not having taken the cup back to Lanarkshire since their unique run of four consecutive triumphs in the early seventies.

The match gets underway at Poloc with a scheduled 6pm start, Alan Haggo and Jeff Meaton are the umpires, and special thanks are due to Jack Kennedy, a winner of the Rowan Cup with Ferguslie in 1960, who has very kindly agreed to present the trophy on behalf of the WDCU.

View other news from June 2013

kit banner

All Stars Cricket


Coaching Courses



Live Sport

All partners