Australia name ODI squad

15 Aug

Australia logoThe Australian selection panel has announced an 18-man squad to face Scotland in a One Day International at the Grange on 3 September.

Michael Clarke will continue his duties as captain of the Australian’s in the limited format while they play a series of T20’s and ODI’s against England and the Scots. Clarke will return to Scotland after leading his country in their last visit to Scotland in 2009, which resulted in a win by 189 runs.

George Bailey will return to Scottish soil as Australian Vice-Captain. His successful spell with the Saltires yielded 696 runs which featured a brilliant 123 against Warwickshire at Edgbaston.

Hard-hitting batsman David Warner is included in the squad. He will be hoping for a more fruitful visit to Scotland after being dismissed by Dewald Nel for 0 in the 2009 fixture.

George Bailey after his 100 v WarwickshireCommenting on the squad, National Selector John Inverarity said: “The National Selection Panel today announced an 18-man squad for the two T20s against England, the ODI against Scotland in Edinburgh and the five ODIs against England to be played from 29 August to 16 September. The NSP will reduce the squad, probably to 15, after the T20 matches.

Big names such as Phil Hughes, Mitchell Jonson and Shane Watson are part of 18, while leg-spinner Fawad Ahmed may get the opportunity to make his Australian debut.

There is now less than 400 tickets left for the marquee match as the popularity of the sport in Scotland continues to grow. Fans are urged to purchase their ticket before day to avoid disappointment.

The Australian selectors will reduce this squad after the initial two T20 internationals against England.

The 18-player squad is:

Michael Clarke (ODI Captain), George Bailey (ODI Vice-Captain/T20 captain), Fawad Ahmed, Nathan Coulter-Nile, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Josh Hazlewood, Phil Hughes, Mitchell Johnson, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Clint McKay, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Adam Voges, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Shane Watson.

Get your tickets from the Shop

View other news from August 2013

kit banner

All Stars Cricket


Coaching Courses



Live Sport

All partners