CS celebrate `Schools Week of Cricket`

10 Jun

Next week will see the culmination of the 2016 Cricket Scotland School Cup competitions (Monday 13 – Thursday 16 June), as Cricket Scotland hosts the `Schools Week of Cricket`.

The action will get underway on Monday at Stirling County Cricket Club, with the finals of the two Secondary School Girls` Cups. With over 17 teams involved in the two competitions it promises to be an action-packed day of cricket.

The main focus on Tuesday will be on the National Secondary Schools’ Cup.  This is a hardball, T20 format and will be held at the picturesque Doo’cot Park venue, in Perth.  The four regional winners who have reached the National Semi-Finals are: Loretto School, Wellington School, Merchiston Castle School, and the winner of Arbroath HS/Glenalmond College qualifier.

All eyes will remain on Doo’cot Park on Wednesday, as the National Primary Schools’ Cup reaches its conclusion.  The following sixteen primary schools have won through regional qualifying events to compete for the trophy: Albyn School, Bellyeoman PS, Craigbank PS, Craigclowans School, Cross Arthurlie PS, Drumlanrig St Cuthbert`s PS, Dunbar PS, Edinburgh Academy, The Glasgow Academy, Grange PS, Hutchesons` Grammar School, Hythehill PS, Langholm PS, Melrose PS, Millbank PS and Timmergreens PS. 

Thursday S1-3 ‘Emerging Schools’ competition – the Cricket Factory Cup.  The finalists in this competition are:  Holy Rood High School, Royal High School, McLaren High School, St Paul`s R.C. Academy, Woodfarm High School

In addition to all the finals Cricket Scotland will be launching the `Love Cricket #choosecricket` competition where schools and clubs can win £500 worth of Cricket Factory equipment. 

Good luck to all the schools who will be taking part in the various competition finals.


View other news from June 2016

kit banner

All Stars Cricket


Coaching Courses



Live Sport

All partners