Perth and Kinross Kwik Cricket tournaments

31 May

Burrleton winners The annual primary schools kwik cricket tournaments were held across Perth and Kinross last week with a massive 106 teams taking part. Perth and Kinross Cricket Development Officer, Kirsteen Ross, said “The tournaments are the culmination of the weekly coaching sessions that the Live Active cricket coaches have delivered to 45 primary schools across the County this year. The children have practised catching, fielding, bowling and batting and the tournaments have given everyone the chance to test their newly acquired skills”. 

There were two tournaments held at the beautiful Doo’cot Park Cricket Club in Perth due to the high demand to take part, with Kinnoull PS and North Muirton PS winning their respective events. Both winners along with runners up Oakbank PS, Auchtergaven PS, Kinnoull Team2 and St Madoes PS have secured places in the Perth and Kinross Area finals held in a week’s time. Kinnoull PS received the ‘Ferguson Shield’ in memory of the late Alec Ferguson a stalwart of the Perthshire County cricket scene and great supporter of local cricket. 

North Muireton winnersMeigle Cricket Club hosted the Blairgowrie Cluster event with 16 local teams taking part. Burrelton Primary retained the title for the second time and they will also be joined by Newtyle PS in the regional finals. Five teams tied in 3rd place: Meigle 1, Meigle 2, Kirkmichael, Burrelton and Coupar Angus with some extremely high quality matches. Meigle CC captain, Iain Stewart, was on hand to present the winners each with a lovely memento plaque and to congratulate the children on their efforts and superb skills displayed throughout the day. 

The fourth event was held at Breadalbane Cricket Club in Aberfeldy for the Highland Perthshire Schools. The winner of this tournament was Breadalbane Academy Primary School for the third year in a row with two of their teams claiming first and second place and a trip to the regional Perth & Kinross finals. Breadalbane Cricket Club has worked extremely hard to rebuild their club and facilities following a devastating fire at the end of last year and the links they have developed with the local schools have proved very effective at building the numbers of children attending the club with many local young people progressing to playing in senior matches. 

Portmoak winner S2

The final tournament was hosted by Kinross-shire Cricket Club at Loch Leven Community Campus. Portmoak Primary School “Bears” team continued their run of success winning for the fourth year in a row with Cleish PS also producing some stunning cricket to take the second spot up for grabs in the area finals. Portmoak Lions finished in third place. Kinross-shire CC chairman, John Ross, presented a beautiful shield and trophy to the winners and commented on the high standards of play and great effort put in by all the teams with everyone improving throughout the day. 

The tournaments week saw over 450 girls playing kwik cricket with most teams fielding more than the minimum 3-girls-per team required under the tournament rules. This is an increase on previous years and cements the commitment by Perth & Kinross Cricket Development to build on the success of the national women’s team and continue to develop female cricketing talent for the future. 

Kinnoull winners

View other news from May 2014

kit banner

All Stars Cricket


Coaching Courses



Live Sport

All partners