Scotland A and Ireland A name squads for Ayr

01 Jun

Scotland and Ireland have today named their squads for the up-coming three-day fixture at New Cambusdoon, Ayr, starting on Monday 6 June.

Craig Wallace has been handed the captaincy after his impressive start to the season, and will have Scotland caps Safyaan Sharif and Mark Watt in his ranks. 

Michael English will look to continue his good form with the bat after compiling a century for the Western Warriors in the Cricket Scotland Pro50. Tom Bruce also continues to push for full representative honours after his maiden century against Durham Academy in May. 

Ahead of the fixture coach Grant Bradburn said, “On the back of a quiet playing schedule post the ICC World T20, the past three months have provided a great opportunity to build the depth of international players in Scotland by providing more players the chance to step into the national squad environment.

The selection for the Ireland A game reflects that intent to provide some of the ‘new breed’ an opportunity to step 

up to international level. Performances at club level alone are only an indicator of international potential and our A games provide players with essential opportunities to post performances at the next level.

I expect the Ireland A game to be a tough challenge for our young side to respond to.”


Scotland A: Craig Wallace (capt), Haris Aslam, Tom Bruce, Scott Cameron, Michael English, Ihtisham Malik, Adrian Neill, Owais Shah, Chris Sole, Hamza Tahir, Mark Watt.

Ireland A: Andrew McBrine (capt), Yaqoob Ali, Peter Chase, Tyrone Kane, Graeme McCarter James McCollum James Shannon*, Max Sorensen, Jack Tector, Sean Terry, Stuart Thompson, Lorcan Tucker

View other news from June 2016

kit banner

All Stars Cricket


Coaching Courses



Live Sport

All partners