Scotland and Nepal shape up for ICC World Cricket League opener

27 Jul

Fresh from the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier 2015, Scotland and Nepal will now lock horns in the first of two 50-over ICC World Cricket League Championship fixtures starting in Ayr on Wednesday. Both teams will be aiming to gain ground on early pace-setter the Netherlands.

The ICC World Cricket League Championship (ICC WCLC) is an elite 50-over competition played between leading Associate and Affiliate members. The ICC WCLC is the pathway for participating teams to play in the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2018 (ICC CWCQ) and subsequently have a chance to qualify for ICC Cricket World Cup 2019. 

The ICC WCL Championship will run from 2015-2017. Four of the eight participating teams in ICC WCLC have ODI status while the other four teams have been promoted from ICC WCL Division 2 which was held in Namibia in January 2015. 

The Netherlands defeated Papua New Guinea 2-nil in Rotterdam last month to move to the top of the table and Peter Borren’s men currently enjoys a two-point lead over Hong Kong who are marginally ahead of Kenya, UAE and Namibia on net run rate. Namibia held Hong Kong to a 1-all draw in round one, while Kenya and UAE also shared the spoils when they faced off in Hampshire in late June. 

With two points on offer for a win this week, both sides will be aiming to vault to the top of the table.

Looking ahead to the game, Scotland captain Preston Mommsen said: “After the excitement of the ICC World T20 Qualifier, we’re looking forward to the trip to Ayr and getting our World Cricket League Championship campaign underway against a talented Nepalese side. It will be the last leg of a solid period of representative cricket, and the group are hungry to finish on a high.” 

Nepal captain Paras Khadka said: “Having played in these conditions for the last few weeks, we are slowly getting used to how to go about things. As a group we need to step up and improve the performance, compared to our last outing in Ireland. Scotland is a good team and we will have to play to our potential and come up with good plans and execution to beat them. The players know the need to stand up and be counted.”


SCOTLAND (from): Preston Mommsen (captain), Richie Berrington, Kyle Coetzer, Matthew Cross (wk), Con de Lange, Alasdair Evans, Hamish Gardiner, Michael Leask, Gavin Main, George Munsey, Safyaan Sharif, Craig Wallace, Mark Watt 

NEPAL (from): Paras Khadka (captain), Pradeep Airee, Prithu Baskota, Mahesh Kumar Chettri (wk), Sompal Kami, Avinash Karn, Karan KC, Siddhant Lohani, Rajesh Pulami Magar, Gyanendra Malla, Anil Kumar Mandal, Shakti Prasad Gauchan, Basant Regmi, Sharad Vesawkar

MATCH REFEREE: David Jukes, UMPIRES: Ian Ramage and Shaun George

Forthcoming fixtures:

Scotland v Nepal

29 July – First ODI, Ayr
31 July – Second ODI, Ayr

Entry will be free, although any contributions will go to the Nepal Earthquake Fund. Both matches will be a 10:45am start. 

View other news from July 2015

kit banner

All Stars Cricket


Coaching Courses



Live Sport

All partners