Scotland to host Women's European/Americas Qualifier

16 Dec

Cricket Scotland is delighted to announce that Scotland has been chosen to host the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 European/Americas Qualifier in 2017. 

The tournament will be contested between the Netherlands, United States of America and hosts, Scotland. The competition will take place from 14-20 August 2017. The specific venues will be announced in due course. 

This event is a direct qualifier to the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 Qualifier, with the top two teams from the qualifying event. 

The matches between the Netherlands and Scotland are always competitive affairs and will undoubtedly be another close battle between the two teams. The relatively unknown USA side will also be a draw for the home fans. 

Scotland’s Women’s Head Coach Steve Knox said, “I’m absolutely delighted that our team will have the chance to play in Scotland in front of our supporters. It also produces another opening to qualify for a global event as we continue to make big strides forward as a team.” 

On the announcement Cricket Scotland Chief Executive, Malcolm Cannon commented, “It’s a great honour for Scotland to be selected as host for the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 2018- Europe/Americas Qualifier. As a national governing body, we’re fully committed to boosting the profile of the women’s game in Scotland and this opportunity will allow us to do exactly that. 

“Our women’s national team will have the chance to show off their skills in front of what we are sure will be a healthy home support, while welcoming the Netherlands and USA to our shores will be an honour and an opportunity to showcase the progression of the women’s game further.” 

View other news from December 2016

kit banner

All Stars Cricket


Coaching Courses



Live Sport

All partners