Scotland squad to face Nepal announced

23 Jul

Image result for nepal v scotland cricket logoThe Scottish selectors have named their squad to face Nepal in the ICC World Cricket League Championship at Ayr CC, Cambusdoon on 29th and 31st July.

It will be the first time the Scotland team will have graced home soil since qualifying for India 2016, after securing top spot in Group B of the ICC World T20 Qualifiers. 

It will be the first time the teams have met since the ICC World Cup Qualifiers back in January 2014 - a match Scotland comfortably won by 90 runs. 

Preston Mommsen will lead the side and will have batsman Hamish Gardiner in his ranks. There are also places in the squad for batsman George Munsey and young off-spinner Mark Watt. 

Head coach Grant Bradburn said, “On the back of an excellent T20 campaign, we will look to take that same positive approach into our World Cricket League series against Nepal. 

I feel the whole squad have moved forward significantly following the World Cup in February, where we have gained so much confidence from that experience of playing against the best teams in the World. 

Nepal is a side we will respect highly, while we will be confident of bringing specific skills to the conditions at Ayr, which we know well. 

A number of players are unavailable for this series, but the fact that we are able to name a very strong side is testament to the depth that is now building in Scottish cricket.” 

A number of players will return to their counties at the conclusion of the World T20 Qualifier in Ireland. These include Rob Taylor, Josh Davey, Calum MacLeod. Freddie Coleman and Matt Machan will also remain with their counties. 

The two reserve days for these fixtures are scheduled for 30th July and 1st August. 

Cricket Scotland have also asked Scottish Clubs to help raise money for the DEP Nepal Earthquake Fund, by donating a pound for their cricket teas and also a special raffle. More information on this can be found HERE .

Scotland Squad v Nepal (In Full)

Preston Mommsen, Matthew Cross, Richie Berrington, Kyle Coetzer, Con de Lange, Alasdair Evans, Hamish Gardiner, Michael Leask, Gavin Main, George Munsey, Safyaan Sharif, Craig Wallace, Mark Watt.


View other news from July 2015

kit banner

All Stars Cricket


Coaching Courses



Live Sport

All partners