Scotland squad to take on Australia A

05 Jun

The Scotland selectors have named their squad to face Australia ‘A’ in a 4 day first class fixture starting this Friday at the Grange, Edinburgh.

Preston Mommsen will captain the side in the absence of Kyle Coetzer, one of three Scots involved in county championship action and therefore unavailable to face an Australian ‘A’ team looking to make a strong start in the first official match of their tour of the British Isles. 

Scotland boasts a youthful side, with an average age of just 24 and only two players in Gordon Goudie and Richie Berrington having made more than 10 first class appearances.

The Grang

Scotland’s leading One Day International wicket-taker Majid Haq has failed to recover from a hamstring injury sustained against Surrey two weeks ago.  However, Richie Berrington makes a welcome return to the squad after missing the Saltires trip to Essex last weekend.  

Scotland coach captain Pete Steindl commented, “It will be good to have the opportunity to change our focus from 40 over to 4 day cricket against a strong Australia ‘A’ team.

We are looking forward to welcoming Iain Wardlaw, Josh Davey and Matt Machan back into the squad, and it will present an opportunity for the players to stake their claim for a spot in the Intercontinental Cup squad against Kenya next month.”

Australian ‘A’ captain Brad Haddin said ahead of their tour, “There’s guys in the squad preparing for an Ashes tour, and young guys involved in their first experience of an Australian A tour and that’s exciting, but we’re all at different stages at the moment.

Once the games start and we walk over the line against Scotland and Ireland it’s all about winning games of cricket.”

Scotland Squad: Preston Mommsen, Richie Berrington, Calvin Burnett, Freddie Coleman, Ewan Chalmers, Josh Davey, Matthew Cross, Moneeb Iqbal, Calum MacLeod, Matt Machan, Gordon Goudie, Iain Wardlaw.

Australia A squad Brad Haddin (capt), Steven Smith (vice-capt), Ashton Agar, Jackson Bird, Alex Doolan, Ryan Harris, Moises Henriques, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Nic Maddinson, James Pattinson, Chadd Sayers, Peter Siddle, Jordan Silk.

Entry to the game is £10 per day for adults or £25 to cover entry for all four days.  There is free entry for all Under 18s.

Play will commence at 11am each day. 

View other news from June 2013

kit banner

All Stars Cricket


Coaching Courses



Live Sport

All partners