Scottish Cup Final Preview 2013

25 Aug

Scottish Cup LogoThis Sunday will see Barclays Grange and Carlton contest the 2013 Lords Scottish Cup Final at New Williamfield. 

Along with the Scottish Cup Final, Stirling will also host the Cricket Scotland Trophy final on its second pitch as Tunnock’s Uddingston take on McCrea FS West of Scotland. 

Celebrating their 150th Anniversiry year, Carlton, who have yet to win the Scottish Cup, get their first opportunity to get their hands on silverware. They are also in contention of winning the CSL Eastern Premier League. 

Scottish Cup

A key member of the Carlton squad Preston Mommsen was looking ahead to the Final with Grange’s Gordon Goudie at Stirling Castle on Thursday. 

Mommsen said, “Very much looking forward to the final. We’ve worked hard to get here and it’s looking like it will be a good showdown here in Stirling 

The Grange have won the only game we’ve played [between the two side] this season and I’m sure they will take a bit of confidence from that, but we felt we were still massively in the game when the rain came, so it’s a chance for us to get a bit of revenge from that game. 

We’ve got a strong eleven on Sunday and we are at full strength and we hope to be firing.” 

As well as Mommsen, Carlton has a host of players with international or Saltire experience at their disposal, with the likes of Hamish Gardiner, Gordon Drummond and Jamie Kerr. 

Six-time winners Grange will be hungry to add more silverware in their cabinet after they clinched the Murgitroyd T20 competition with a six wicket win against Drumpellier last weekend. 

The Stockbridge outfit remain one of five teams, the others being Greenock, Drumpellier, Clydesdale and Uddingston, to have won the trophy during back-to-back seasons. 

George Munsey and Ryan Flannigan both impressed during the T20s finals day, and along with Neil McCallum, Simon Smith and Gregor Maiden they will pose a potent threat to their opponents. 

Scotland bowler Gordon Goudie is also present, and is looking forward to the contest as he joked with Mommsen that Carlton had ‘bottled it’ in the previous fixture between the teams. 

On a more serious note the seamer added, “We’re looking forward to the final a lot, it’s a big game against 

Goudie and Mommsen with the Scottish Cup

Carlton, big rivalry, and it means even more in the Scottish Cup Final. 

With the two games going on as well it should be a great day for Scottish cricket and hopefully we can come out on top.” 

Cricket Scotland Chief Executive Roddy Smith is looking forward to the big day, “We are delighted that this year's Lords Scottish Cup and Cricket Scotland Challenge Trophy are both being played at New Williamfield.  

With two games taking place at the one venue, involving four of the top club sides in Scotland, we hope that the day will be a great festival of cricket. 

Cricket Scotland is committed to working with Stirling County Cricket Club and Stirling Council to develop the facility, and we hope this is the first of many key events to be staged at the venue. 

Carlton against Grange and West of Scotland against Uddingston are both key local derbies as well as being finals of national competitions so I am sure we will see some hard fought, competitive cricket. With many current, former and aspiring internationalists involved in the four sides I am sure the cricket will be hugely entertaining for the spectators.” 

Both matches will start at 12pm.

Lords Scottish Cup Final


Neil McCallum* (c), Andrew Brock, Ryan Flannigan, Gregor Maiden, George Munsey, Josh Edwards, Henry Edwards, Simon Smith (wk), Gordon Goudie, Stuart Davidson, Raj Routray, Chris Sole, Zander Muir, Iain Worth.

 Scorer: George Burns  

CarltonCARLTON (from):

Preston Mommsen (c), Omar Ahmad, Mo Ahmed, Fraser Allardice, Gordon Drummond, Hamish Gardiner, Chayank Gosain, Jamie Kerr (wk), Kyle Macpherson, Rory McCann, Kyle Stirling, Rob Thornton, Fraser Watts.

 Scorer: Lynne Forrester 


Cricket Scotland Trophy Final

UddingstonTUNNOCK’S UDDINGSTON (from):

Bryan Clarke (c/wk), Derek Allan, Ricky Bawa, Amir Gul, Calum MacLeod, Nick Martin, Scott McKenzie, Ras Priyadarshana, Gowtham Rai, Vasu Reddy, Mark Townson, Sameer Zia.

 Scorer: Michael J Clarkson



Ross Brown (C), John Blain, Edward Clarke, Richard Cox, Mark Gilchrist, Douglas Lockhart, Stewart Leggat, David McNulty, Dylan Pinkstone (wk), Gurjit Singh, Jatinder Singh, Gavin Smith, Gregg Watson (vc).

Scorer: B Kettlewell 

View other news from August 2013

kit banner

All Stars Cricket


Coaching Courses



Live Sport

All partners