Wallace guides Fofarshire to Murgitroyd T20 Title

17 Aug

Forfarshire were last night crowned Scotland’s T20 champions after they snuffed out the challenge of hosts Poloc in the Murgitroyd tournament final.

Tight bowling by the Broughty Ferry side’s varied attack kept the clamps on the home batsmen and they could post a target of only 104. 

The pursuit proved to be a cakewalk and Shire cruised across the line with seven wickets and more than 10 overs to spare. 

They raced out of the traps to pile up 45 without loss in the first 18 deliveries, staving off any prospect of a Poloc recovery. 

Skipper Craig Wallace set the tone by thumping a six and two fours in the first over. 

He then cleared the boundary a further twice in the fourth, with former Scotland captain Ryan Watson looking on at the other end. 

Wallace then brought up his second half-century of the day in the next over from a mere 16 deliveries. 

Support act Watson departed with the tally on 71, bowled for 11 by Ihtisham Malik. 

But he simply left the stage clear for Michael Leask to launch a spate of massive strikes, one of which landed in the River Cart. 

Wallace completed the rout to end on 64 not out. 

Poloc had laid solid foundations with an opening stand of 48, but when Michael Leask made the breakthrough it signalled a loss of momentum.

Frustration led to a spare of poor shot selection and two scalps in quick succession for Umair Mohammed put Forfarshire comfortably on top. 

The Glasgow squad tried in vain to raise the tempo, however they were pegged to 103 for seven. Owais Shah top scored with 38. 

Earlier in the action-packed day, Poloc had outgunned Dumfries in the opening semi, while Forfarshire beat Watsonians - thanks mainly to Leask’s 57 from 29 balls and 58 off 38 deliveries by Wallace.

View other news from August 2015

kit banner

All Stars Cricket


Coaching Courses



Live Sport

All partners