Win Wisden’s 150th edition Almanack

10 Apr

Wisden 2013

We’ve teamed up with Wisden, the world’s most famous sports book, to celebrate the 150th edition of the Almanack, published on Thursday April 11. 

Since 1864 cricket’s iconic book of record has carried reports on over 22,000 County Championship games, covered more than 2,000 Test matches and honoured 570 Wisden Cricketers of the Year.

Editor Lawrence Booth’s Five Cricketers of the Year for 2013, are Nick Compton of Somerset and England, who joins his grandfather Denis, honoured in 1939, to become the first grandfather and grandson to win the coveted award. South Africa’s Hashim Amla, Jacques Kallis and Dale Steyn, and Marlon Samuels of the West Indies are also recognised. 

Australia captain Michael Clarke is named as the Leading Cricketer in the World.

And to celebrate its unique anniversary, Wisden has named the ten most seminal moments in cricket during the 150 years covered by the Almanack.  The ten Moments in Time are:

  • 1871: W. G. Grace rewrites the record books
  • 1882: The Ashes are born
  • 1932-33: Bodyline divides two nations
  • 1963: The Gillette Cup is launched
  • 1968: The D’Oliveira Affair exposes apartheid
  • 1975-76: Defeat in Australia sparks West Indies’ pace revolution
  • 1977-78: World Series Cricket shakes the foundations
  • 1992-93: Technology takes its bow
  • 2000: Hansie Cronje admits to match-fixing
  • 2008: The first IPL auction puts a price on everything 

Q - Who was the first Scottish player to captain Cambridge University Blues Cricket Club

A - The correct answer to our Wisden competition was Ivo Bligh, who played a single match for Scotland v Australia in 1880, although he was not a Scot by birth.  As only our official historian spotted the correct answer, we are accepting Gregor MacGregor as the legitimate answer.  MacGregor represented Scotland 5 times and made 8 appearances for England, he was born on 31st August 1869, Merchiston, Edinburgh, Midlothian and was named Wisden Cricketer of the Year in 1891.

Former Scotland U19 player Paddy Sadler is the current Cambridge Blues captain.

Thank you to all who took part and congratulations to the winners: Geoff Harding, Richard Jones and Lily Cartwright. 

Visit for full details of Wisden Cricketers’ Almanack 2013, including the Shorter Wisden eBook and Robert Winder’s compelling new history of Wisden, The Little Wonder.

View other news from April 2013

kit banner

All Stars Cricket


Coaching Courses



Live Sport

All partners