Women's squad announced for ICC Global Qualifier

08 Jul

Scotland’s women selectors have named their squad for the ICC European Qualifier against the Netherlands for a place in the ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifiers early next year.

The series begins on Tuesday 12 July at Garon Park Cricket Club, Essex with the second and third fixtures taking place on Wednesday 13 July and Friday 15 July respectively.        

The winner of the three match series will progress on to the Global Qualifying event early next year for a place in the ICC Women’s World Cup, which is being held in England in 2017. 

Abbi Aitken will lead the side with a number of experienced campaigners such as Kari Anderson and Kathryn White in the Scottish ranks. 

Also included is Kirstie Gordon who has been training with the ECB Academy alongside the talented young all-rounder Kathryn Bryce. 

The team also have an ECB fixture against the Dutch on Sunday (10th June) followed by two T20’s on Sunday 17July against Hertfordshire and Devon at Letchworth CC.  

The squad will remain the same for the ECB fixtures with the exceptions of Kirstie Gordon, who will go back to her loan county Nottinghamshire for the T20s and Rachel Scholes who has work commitments. 

On announcement of the squad captain Abbi Aitken commented, “The squad have been working hard throughout the season which in turn has given the selection committee a very tough task in picking the final 14 to face the Netherlands in July. 

We have few familiar faces in the squad and plenty of experienced shoulders when it comes to international cricket, which will stand us in good stead against the Dutch. 

It’s a great opportunity for the girls to show that women’s cricket in Scotland is continuing to go from strength to strength and that the talent and potential of the younger players coming through is there. Without hesitation, our aim is to qualify for the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier at the beginning of next year. 

We are under no illusion of the task ahead and with six games in eight days we have a very intense week of cricket coming up.” 

Scotland squad: Abbi Aitken (captain), Kari Anderson, Kathryn Bryce, Sarah Bryce, Priyanaz Chatterji, Annette Drummond, Kirstie Gordon, Samantha Haggo, Lorna Jack, Katie McGill, Elizabeth Priddle, Ollie Rae, Rachel Scholes, Kathryn White.

You can follow squads progress on twitter @Wildcatscricket 

View other news from July 2016

kit banner

All Stars Cricket


Coaching Courses



Live Sport

All partners