Schools Cricket 

School cricket plays a vital role within the Cricket Scotland player pathway.  In many cases, a primary school ‘taster’ session or block or sessions may be the first opportunity that a young person gets to experience participating in cricket.  The aim of Cricket Scotland is to support the delivering coaches to make taster sessions interesting, safe and fun – while also ensuring maximum participation for each young person within the session.  Hopefully, this session or block of sessions will encourage young players to want to try cricket at their local Club. 

For details of School-Club partnerships, or of cricket sessions on offer to your school, please contact your Cricket Scotland Regional Participation Manager or your local Cricket Scotland Partnership Staff Member.  Details of your local cricket development officer can be found here

National School Competitions

Each school year, Cricket Scotland runs a series of National School Competitions.  The aims of the competitions are simple: to get more school pupils interested in cricket, to get more school pupils participating in cricket, to provide a competitive option for schools and ultimately to find the National Champion in each competition.  The following competitions run on an annual basis, as of the 2014/2015 Academic Year:


Year Group



Network Rail National Primary Schools Cup

Up to, and   including, Primary 6


8-a-side, Kwik   Cricket

National Secondary Schools Cup

S1 – S3


11-a-side,   Hardball, T20

Cricket Factory National Emerging Schools Cup

S1 – S3


8-a-side, softball,   can be played on any surface (indoor or out!)

Girls Secondary Schools Trophy (S1 – S3)

S1 – S3

Female only

8-a-side, softball

Girls Secondary Schools Cup (S4 – S6)

S3 – S6

Female only

8-a-side, softball

For more information about the history and details of each competition please follow the link on the respective competition name.

Network Rail National Primary Schools Cup

National Secondary Schools Cup

Cricket Factory National Emerging Schools Cup

Girls Secondary Schools Trophy (S1-3)

Girls Secondary Schools Cup (S4-6)



kit banner

All Stars Cricket


Coaching Courses



Live Sport

All partners